Tue. Mar 7th, 2023

The division of fighter jets into generations is used around the world as unofficial and occult because there is no authorized classification concept based on the features and performance of aircraft. This categorization is common due to its facility, it does not depend on features or plane performance. Every category contains technological divisions according to engines, electronics, and plane construction.

First-generation (the mid-1940s to mid-1950s)

The first aircraft were similar to their ancestors Piston Powered by a straight wing, weak radar, unguided bombs, and machine guns. During this generation, the first operational fighter jet is Me 262 and Britain’s meteors weren’t perfect, but a new way for new development. During the Korean war, new constructions appeared like the MIG-15 and the North American F-86 with swept wings and breaking the sound barriers. In 1950 the first combat between the fighter jets a MIG-15 and an F-80 appeared. One of the most famous jets during this time was a Hawker Hunter. The most notable feature of this time is its revolutionary advance in speed over its piston-engine predecessors. piston-engine predecessors.

Credit: https://photovault.com/

Second generation (from the mid-1950s to early 1960s)

This generation resulted from technological development and gained experience during warfare in Asia. New jets were equipped with radar, which gives them opportunities to use air-to-air missiles. Also, nuclear warfare lead to the dividing of jets into two categories; Interceptors (MiG-21F, SU-9, F-106) specialized in preventive missions against enemy bombers and aerial reconnaissance flights. Second were fighter-bombers (F-105, SU-7).

Credit: http://amh1020evz1.weebly.com/

Third generation (from the early 1960s to 1970)

During this time there was an improvement in the construction of aircraft, maneuverability, and enhancements in suites and weapon systems. The first cadre of multi-role planes appeared as Mirage III, MiG-23, and F-4. Rising costs and research difficulties resulted in a new doctrine for air forces. Multirole aircrafts developed into primary weapons e.g. the McDonnell F-4 Phantom became the only fighter in its history used by every branch of the United States Armed Forces.

Credit: https://www.wikiwand.com/

Fourth generation (from 1970 to late 1980s)

Planes of this generation have the ability to swing and switch roles between air-to-air and air-to-ground. During this level, fly-by-wire such as the MiG-29, Su-27, F/A-18, F-15, F-16, and Mirage-2000 fighters were developed also, head-up displays. An aircraft’s digital system helped the pilot keep the plan stable and control it. Impossible aerobatic maneuvers like Pugachev’s Cobra could be made.

Credit: https://www.19fortyfive.com/

Fifth-generation (2005 to date)

During this generation, technology became more advanced, planes became invisible to radars, also navigation and communication ways, glass cockpits, and networks developed. F-35 has software more than any other combat fighter also, F-35 software uses about 100 times the number of parameters that a fourth-generation fighter does to define a potential threat. In the advance of this generation’s development The Russian Sukhoi T-50 PAK FA, the Lockheed Martin F-35, and the Chinese J-20 and J-31, all of them are designed to operate high-tech. The active service with the US Air Force is only the Lockheed Martin/Boeing F-22 Raptor



%d bloggers like this: